Chamber Announces 2015 Ruby Award Nominees

The Nominees for the 2015 Ruby Awards were announced at a breakfast held this morning at the Seaway Mall Centre Court. The Chamber is happy to see the community once again put forth so many deserving businesses and citizens. Over 60 nominations have been accepted for the various business and community service awards that will be presented at the Ruby Awards Ceremony, taking place on October 16th 2015 at Lookout Point Golf & Country Club from 6:00pm to 10:00pm.  Tickets for the event are $50.00 per person, or $40 per person when booking a table of 8 or more. To book your spot now, contact the Chamber at 905-732-7515.

The Chamber would like to thank the sponsors of 2015 Ruby Awards, and wishes all nominees the best of luck!

2015 Ruby Awards Sponsors

Diamond Sponsor


Durward Jones Barkwell and Company LLP
Gala Décor

Seasons First Avenue

The Tribune

Gold Sponsor

Caisse Populaire Welland

Burke Employment Solutions

Niagara College of Applied Arts & Technology

Pleasantview Funeral & Reception Centre

RBC Financial Group
Seaway Mall

The Printing House

Silver Sponsor

L.J. Walters Insurance

Reuter & Reilly Insurance Brokers (Welland) Limited

Welland Toyota

Bronze Sponsor

Accipiter Radar Technologies Inc.

City of Welland

Town of Pelham

Turf Net Sports Supplies

Urge to Purge


Mary Anne Christoff Community Service Award, sponsored by the Kiwanis Club of Welland

Debbie McIntyre
Don Thorpe
Mark Holmes
Pam Swick Janjac
Rob Noyes
Dr. Thomas Egan
Tom Liszt
Tim Proctor

Employee of the Year / Excellence in Service Award, sponsored by Young’s Insurance Brokers Inc.

Shawn Raimondo of Hunters Point Golf Course
Julia Comtois of Boston Pizza
Steve Warankie  of Enviro-Niagara Heating & Air Conditioning
Anthony Ventresca  of Presstime Design
Wendy Robins of Noyes Jewelers

Venture Niagara Women in Business Award

Melissa Wells of myNiagaraOnline
Brigitte Boucher of Isis Body Sugaring & Esthetics
Nyarai Kapisavanhu of TOES Niagara
Rebecca Sheppit of Niagara Virtual Office
Samantha Campbell of Ella Bella Bum Inc.

RBC Financial Group Business Initiative Award, sponsored by the RBC Financial Group

Gerry Vermeer – Vermeer’s Garden Centre & Flower Shop
Mike Knapp- Mike Knapp Ford
Eric Pridmore- Presstime Design
Rick O'Neil – Ella Bella Bum Inc.
Rob Noyes- Coins Unlimited / Noyes Jewelers
Dr. Thomas Egan- Peninsula Chiropractic

RBC Financial Group Small Business Award, sponsored by the RBC Financial Group 

Pita Pit
Eye Care Welland
Great Signs & Graphics Inc.
Iggy’s Pub & Grub
Enviro-Niagara Heating & Air Conditioning
The Wine Garden of Pelham

Greening Niagara, Eco Action Award of Excellence, sponsored by GREENING Niagara
Enviro-Niagara Heating & Air Conditioning
Habitat for Humanity Niagara Fonthill Restore
Hartbridge Environmental Inc.

Age Friendly Community Business Award, sponsored by Plymouth Cordage Retirement Community
Boggio Pharmacy & Log Cabin Gift Shoppe
Vermeer’s Garden Center and Flower Shop
Justice Niagara
Peninsula Chiropractic
Mokus Restaurant of Fonthill

Youth Citizen of the Year Award, sponsored by Indexable Cutting Tools of Canada Ltd.

Alyssa Girotti of Notre Dame
Ashleigh Gisel of Welland Centennial
Caylea Alfaro of Notre Dame
Emily Lucchetta of Notre Dame
Ethan Makund of Notre Dame
Hope Peters of E.L. Crossley
Jessica Braun of Welland Centennial
Julia Labricciosa of E.L. Crossley
Justin Dube of Welland Centennial
Serena Atallah of Notre Dame
Stephen Cho of Notre Dame
Vritti Patel of Eastdale Secondary School
Zachary Meyer of Notre Dame

Business of the Year, nominees in this category come from the Business of the Month recipients for the year
Bissell’s Hideaway Resort
Matteo's Ristorante
Dun-Rite Aluminum and Vinyl Ltd.
Niagara Street Pharmacy
The Wine Garden of Pelham
Fuzzy Logic Eat & Drink Haus
Prime Way Group
Best Western Plus Rose City Suites
Vermeer's Garden Centre and Flower Shop
Don Marco's Italian Eatery
Ella Bella Bum Inc
Glen-Merritt Auto Collision

In addition the Chamber will be presenting the Stuart Cumming Memorial Award of Merit for outstanding service and contribution to the Welland/Pelham Chamber of Commerce.